## Manteno Community Unit School District No. 5 Reorganization Meeting of the Board of Education Tuesday, April 30, 2013 High School Library

Open Session	The meeting was held in the library of the Manteno High School and was called to order by President Stauffenberg at 6:35 p.m.	
Roll Call	The following members answered to roll call: G. Dodge, E. Hofmeister, P. Mallaney, L. Murray, M. Nelson, G. Preston, and M. Stauffenberg – seven (7). Absent: - None (0).	
	Also present: Supt. Russert, J. Palicki, J. DePoister, K. Meyer, N. Kaufman, J. O'Reilly, A. Frame – fourteen (14).	
	Visitors: Mr. Mike Murray arrived late to the meeting.	
Pledge of Allegiance	President Stauffenberg led everyone in the Pledge of Allegiance.	
	Moved by Nelson, seconded by Mallaney to approve Deb Fortin as Recording Secretary and Nancy Kaufman as the alternate Recording Secretary Voice vote – all ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.	
Swearing In Of New Board Members	President Stauffenberg administered the oath of office to the newly elected School Board members: Dr. Elizabeth Hofmeister, Patrick Mallaney and Louann Murray.	
Election of President	President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for President of the Board of Education. Member Nelson nominated Mark Stauffenberg, Member Dodge, seconded the Motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, there was an unanimous ballot cast for Member Stauffenberg and Member Stauffenberg was declared elected as President.	
Election of Vice President	President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Vice President. Member Nelson nominated Member Preston, Member Dodge seconded the motion. Since there were no further nominations heard, there was an unanimous ballot cast for Member Preston and Member Preston was declared elected as Vice President.	
Election of Secretary	President Stauffenberg opened the nominations for Board Secretary. Member Nelson nominated Member Mallaney, and Member Dodge seconded the motion. Since no further nominations were heard, there was an unanimous ballot cast for Member Mallaney and Member Mallaney was declared elected as Secretary.	
Election of Treasurer	Moved by Preston, seconded by Hofmeister that Kathy Meyer be appointed Treasurer for the 2013-2014 school year. Ayes: Preston, Hofmeister, Dodge, Mallaney, Murray Nelson and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.	

Manteno CUSD No. 5 Reorganization Board of Education Meeting – April 30, 2013

Establishment Moved by Dodge, seconded by Hofmeister to Establish Date, Time and Place of Of Date, Time Regular Board Meetings on the fourth Tuesday of each month, at 6:30PM in the And Place of High School Library. Voice vote: Ayes: seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Regular **Board Meetings** 

Adoption of Moved by Dodge, seconded by Murray to adopt the existing Board Policies. Ayes: Dodge, Murray, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Nelson, Preston and Stauffenberg – Existing

Board seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

**Policies** 

Funds

Designation For District

Moved by Nelson, seconded by Hofmeister to designate Bank of Bourbonnais, Centrue Of Depositories Bank, Certificate of deposit Account Registry Service (CDARS), HomeStar Bank, Illinois School District Liquid Asset Fund, Municipal Trust and Savings Bank, Raymond James Financial, Inc., Amalgamated Bank, State Bank of Herscher, Institutional Deposits

Corp. with Wells Fargo Bank as custodian, and PMA Financial Network, Inc. as depositories for District Funds. Ayes: Nelson, Hofmeister, Dodge, Mallaney, Murray,

Preston and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Select Moved by Preston, seconded by Dodge to continue professional services of:

Professional BLDD Architects as architects, Smith, Koelling, Dykstra, & Ohm as auditors, Canna and Canna, Ltd. as legal counsel. Ayes: Preston, Dodge, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Murray Firms

Nelson and Stauffenberg – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

President Stauffenberg announced the board members assigned to the following Reorganization

Of Board committees:

Committees **Finance Committee** - Patrick Mallaney and Mike Nelson

> **Building and Grounds** – Gary Preston, Liz Hofmeister and Mark Stauffenberg Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment – Liz Hofmeister and Gale Dodge

**Technology Committee** – Louann Murray and Gale Dodge Career Center/KARVES Representative – Mark Stauffenberg

Meeting Moved by Dodge, seconded by Nelson to adjourn the meeting. Adjourned Voice vote: All ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

To Executive The meeting ended at 6:40 p.m.

Session

Return to Moved by Hofmeister, seconded by Nelson to return to Open Session at 7:25 p.m. Open Session Ayes: Hofmeister, Nelson, Dodge, Mallaney, Murray, Preston and Stauffenberg –

Seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Moved by Preston, seconded by Dodge to approve the non-certified salary schedules. Approve Non-Certified Ayes: Preston, Dodge, Hofmeister, Mallaney, Murray, Nelson and Stauffenberg –

Salary seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.

Schedules

Manteno CUSD No. 5 Reorganization Board of Education Meeting – April 30, 2013

Meeting	Moved by Preston, seconded by Nelson to adjourn the meeting at 7:30 p.m.		
Adjourned	Voice vote: All Ayes – seven (7). Nays – none (0). Motion carried.		
	Mark Stauffenberg	Patrick Mallaney	
	Board President	Board Secretary	

MKS/PM/nak